Full Circle

5 Mar

Man, this weekend came around before I was ready for it… and before I knew it….it was over.  So, I dj’d a bunch of my resident gigs this week as well as the Cassidy concert at Northern Lights in Clifton Park, NY.  But the real highlight came when I was djing my buddy Matt Cherchio’s wedding.  Matt, If you are reading this, congrats again my brother!  You have a beautiful wife and Nick is one of the most colorful and charming kids I have ever met.  I mean this kid literally lights up the room.  So, in case you didn’t know…Djing a dj’s wedding is the ultimate compliment and I was honored as Matt was one of my earliest influences on my career.  This gig was tough because the bar was set high.  I was hired to not only perform but also to impress as I knew Matt would be listening critically.  Matt couldn’t have made things easier for me as he had the entire setup ready for me.  Sound system, serato, and all.  All I had to do was put on the headphones and do work! (Thanks again Matt).  Well, to my surprise one of Matt’s wedding guests was none other than Dan Testa.  Dan was the absolute earliest intro to my dj world aside from Yo MTV raps or video music box.  Sorry younger guys, no 106 and Park back then!  Man, I can still remember his setup of turntables in his room.  DJ Coffin with the turntables set up, and Sony stereo on video output.  And some terrible Lineartech turntables.  Sorry Dan, I know you used to swear by them.  Anyways, I remember it like it was yesterday.  It was a party at 1 Kent St. where I saw and later met Dan (DJ Peppaz), Sean Duncan (Matt’s Best Man aka Dj Handikap) and Matt (Dj Cherch).  I must have looked like I had just seen a UFO as I was vibing to this Dj (Handikap) cutting and mixing what I later discovered to be a Kenny Dope break beat.  That was it!  I was an instant junkie for life.  Well from that point on for the next 2 years, I continued to probably bother and annoy the crap out of Dan as he was my closest source for all info and things dj/turntable related.  A month after I purchased my first pair of 1200’s, I was djing alongside Dan and Handikap at a local hole in the wall (Peabody’s for those who can remember lol).  Fast forward 14 years and here we are at Matt’s wedding chopping it up and reminiscing about some of the times we shared.  Dan is older than me and a guy I always looked up to and although it was 14 years later I was glad to be able tell him that he was a major influence in my career as a dj but more importantly, I got a chance to give thanks.  Dan expressed that he was proud to see where I have taken things and expressed a “real connection to me” which I whole heartedly agree.  Without these guys, I wouldn’t be where I am today or know half of what I know.  So, from the bottom of my heart…Thanks Guys!

Leave a Reply

